KEITH URBAN – “WHY I DID TURN TO DRUGS”.

IMPORTANT NOTE – APRIL 24th – 2014.

Dear readers:

This particular post has ALWAYS been the most popular of ALL of my posts, here in this Blog.

I NEVER understood WHY most people ONLY read this particular Blog post, 

Does it get me mad?

Yes, a little, I will admit.

 

IT DOES….

There are TONS of things to learn here in ALL of my Blog, NOT only about Keith, but about DRUG ADDICTION.

And YES, it is VERY TRUE, I am in personal contact with Blake Gray, sho is Brian Nutter’s fiancée – they are getting married this coming May.

(Brian is in Keith’s band, he has been for about 10 years now…).

I do NOT think that too many Bloggers about Keith have at least one person who is DIRECTLY around Keith in contact with them…

SO PLEASE READ OTHER POSTS OF MINE IN MY BLOG.

You will NOT regret your visit (s) here.

Thanks.

Sylvie from Québec (Canada).

 

 

 

keith-urban-wearing-black-coat-moving-picture-montage-2-pictures.gif

 

Keith…

“Nashville Wasn’t Ready for Me”

In 1989, (he was born on October 26th, 1967) ,  Keith  Urban moved to Nashville, Tennessee, the hub of American country music. His initial reception, however, was a cold one. Urban told Pulvirenti, “People never told me I was a loser to my face. They would tell me I was destined to be a star then tell everyone else I didn’t have a hope in hell.” To survive, Urban played any bar gigs he could get at night and did odd jobs during the day. In 1995 he formed the group the Ranch with Australian drummer Peter Clarke and American bass player Jerry Flowers. Like Urban, Clarke had grown up playing in Australian pubs and their raw, rowdy style didn’t go over well with American country audiences. Urban told Pulvirenti, “Nashville wasn’t ready for someone who sweated on his guitar and threw it around the stage.”

The Ranch performed all over the United States, driving long hours to play for tiny, often unappreciative audiences. Urban told Billy Watkins in the Jackson, Mississippi Clarion-Ledger that at one venue, three people were present when they started their show. “We played one song, and one person left. We played another song, and the other two people left. We figured we’d better quit playing before the bartender left as well. We felt so bad, we didn’t even let them pay us.” Through this difficult period, Urban told Pulvirenti, he kept his hopes of a big career alive by remembering something an industry insider had once told him: ‘The thing about you is you’re different. And that will be your greatest curse, until it becomes your biggest blessing.”

The Ranch eventually signed with Capitol Records and released a self-titled album in 1997. Although critics liked it, the record label gave it little publicity, and few copies were sold. When Urban developed throat problems and his doctor told him not to sing for a few months, the Ranch disbanded. In the meantime, Urban worked as a guitarist, performing on albums by well-known country artists Brooks and Dunn and the Dixie Chicks. However, he eventually became depressed by his lack of success, and began taking cocaine.

Trouble with Drugs

“It’s a horrible, horrible thing,” Urban told Pulvirenti. “You know you have to stop and you just can’t. You look at yourself in the mirror and say, ‘Who are you and how the hell did you let this happen to yourself?'” He said that part of the reason he got into drugs was loneliness. He often had no one to talk to about his troubles, and when he did, they told other people, leading to gossip all over Nashville. “So you clam up and go inward, and that’s when you’re in real trouble.”

Despite the fact that family and friends back in Australia would have been sympathetic, Urban did not want to bother them with his troubles. Later, he realized that he should have gone home and regained strength and confidence in himself, but at the time, pride prevented him from doing so, and he didn’t want to go home without a success story to tell.

Urban eventually became terrified that the drug use would kill him. This terror finally fueled his desire to stop and he kicked the habit for good in 1998. At the same time, American country music was changing, becoming more open to artists outside the stereotypical conservative pattern. Urban was not American, did not wear a cowboy hat, and sang about unusual themes. Formerly a block to his career, this now made him interesting.

Source: E-Notes.

NOTE FROM SYLVIE:

Although Keith was SO VERY SURE, back then in 1998, to NEVER EVER RELAPSE into substance abuse EVER AGAIN, he did.

He returned to rehab in 2002 and in 2006.

Myself, I would have NEVER thought to be RELAPSING – if it was ONLY “THAT ONE SINGLE TIME” on last August 23rd (2011) after more (back then) then 20 years of  100% COMPLETE SOBRIETY.

To this day, everytime I see people doing cocaine on TV, I AM …REALLY NOT PRETTY TO SEE…..

BELIEVE ME…

I CRY, I SCREAM, I HIT THE COUCH…..

SOMETIMES FOR VERY VERY LONG MINUTES, IF NOT HOURS….

In my very own case, it is a REAL BLESSING that freebasing and crack did NOT exist in the days when I was using…

It is a blessing that I “only” used my nose, my nostrils, really…

STILL, MY NOSTRILS ARE MY VERY BEST FRIENDS…AND MY VERY WORST ENEMIES……

THEY WILL ALWAYS BE.. .BOTH VERY BEST FRIENDS AND VERY WORST ENEMIES…

YES, I ADMIT…..

I STILL MISS DRUGS…

NO, CERTAINLY NOT EVERY SINGLE DAY…

BUT A COUPLE OF TIMES PER WEEK FOR SURE…

THAT IS HOW VERY HARD ADDICTION IS…

As my sponsor is NOT always available (I do respect the fact that – at times – he has his own things to do after all! (Smiles), when the cravings do become WAY TOO BIG for me to support, this is the video that I watch, the middle of that interview is ALWAYS a MAJOR “BLESSING” for me to REALISE that…

I CAN NOT GO BACK TO MY DRUG ADDICTiON ANYMORE…

Besides that “only one time”, in 2 weeks from now, during the very last week of April, I will be celebrating my 21st year of 100%, COMPLETE ABSTINENCE from any drugs…

Sylvie, still sober.

P.S.: Thanks to the one who is saving my life, DAY AFTER DAY.

Although there are MANY people for me to thank for STILL BEING ALIVE, you all know how SO VERY IMPORTANT Keith is for my sobriety.

He has been ever since 1998 that is.

Yesm and this, even when he relapszed into his drug use, he was STILL my mentor, my role model, my STRENGTH for me to remain sober, simply because I KNEW that he would get sober again.

 

 

 

 

What can I say, I do have NON-STOP, EVERLASTING  TREMENDOUS FAITH in him, for this, to be SOBER.

Sylvie

(Note  from Sylvie:  Keith did use many kind of different drugs then, including alcohol. The article – most unfortunately – forgot to say this).


By hereisthelatestbysylvie

2 comments on “KEITH URBAN – “WHY I DID TURN TO DRUGS”.

  1. I was never on drugs, but I did have a major cutting problem due to being molested as a teen. I used cutting as a way to “feel something”. When pain wasn’t enough I turned to a friend and started sleeping with him. I attempted suicide 3 times in my life, what stopped me everytime was miraculously either Taylor Swift or Keith Urban would start playing somewhere in the room. After hearing them I got the strength to keep trying. To be honest I wouldn’t be hear if not for those two. If I ever met them I would shake their hands and tell them that they saved my life.

    • Dearest Jessie I am so very moved by your COURAGE in remaining alive, with all of this love that you still have inside of you…

      Please do check both your e-mail and Facebook inboxes, I’ve written to you in both places Jessie.

      I will ALWAYS be there for you, no matter what.

      Sylvie from Québec.

Leave a Reply

